Rancho Santiago Community College District (RSCCD) 2323 North Broadway via Zoom Santa Ana, California

BOARD INSTITUTIONAL EFFECTIVENESS COMMITTEE

Thursday, July 15, 2021

MINUTES

1.0 PROCEDURAL MATTERS

1.1 Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m. by Dr. Tina Arias Miller. Other members present: Mr. John Hanna and Mr. Zeke Hernandez.

Staff present: Stephanie Clark, Dr. Marilyn Flores, Dr. Denise Foley, Cheng Yu Hou, Iris Ingram, Jim Isbell, Marvin Martinez, Dr. Fernando Ortiz, Enrique Perez, Nga Pham, Craig Rutan, Martin Stringer, Jose Vargas, Aaron Voelcker, Dr. Joyce Wagner and Debra Gerard as record keeper.

1.2 Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag

The pledge of allegiance was led by Mr. Isbell.

1.3 Public Comment

There was no public comment.

1.4 Approval of Minutes

It was moved by Mr. Hernandez and seconded by Dr. Arias Miller to approve the minutes of June 17, 2021. The motion carried with the following vote: Aye – Mr. Hernandez and Dr. Arias Miller. Abstain – Mr. Hanna.

2.0 <u>REVIEW OF INSTITUTIONAL EFFECTIVENESS ITEMS</u>

2.1 Review of Guided Pathways Program at Santa Ana College and Santiago Canyon College

- a. Dr. Foley and Dr. Wagner presented an update on the Guided Pathways Program at Santiago Canyon College.
- b. Ms. Clark presented an update on the Guided Pathways Program at Santa Ana College.

Committee members received clarification of the data related to the presentations from both colleges.

Due to time constraints, committee members agreed to defer discussion of this item to the August 12, 2021 meeting. Committee members requested specific information to be covered in the presentation.

2.3 Proposal of Future Agenda Items

Mr. Hernandez asked that diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) be under the auspices of the Institutional Effectiveness Committee. Dr. Arias Miller agreed to consider this request and asked the Chancellor to arrange a meeting to discuss how this will be done.

3.0 ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Arias Miller declared the meeting adjourned at 5:48 p.m.

Minutes Approved: August 12, 2021